3/30 Delicatessen (1991)

The Most Obscure Movie You Have Ever Seen

Delicatessen is my pick for this one, just look at the pictures and you won’t doubt me. It’s still something I would recommend wholeheartedly.

P.S. Anomalous Material did this great ’10 Weirdest Movies List’ recently that feature some really cool ones like David Cronenberg‘s (love that guy!) Naked Lunch. Check it out!

11 responses to “3/30 Delicatessen (1991)

  1. This was one of the first foreign language films that I saw outside of a French classroom. It felt a lot like what Tim Burton would make if Tim Burton was French.

    Have you seen “Micmacs”, Jeunet’s more recent film? It has much of the same feel as “Delicatessen”.

    • Now that you say it I definitely feel the Burton wibe ! Haven’t seen it ! Should get a hold of it. There’s quite a few directors that could dominate the weirdest movies list, Jeunet and possibly even Burton included. Von Trier’s Idiots was another that could’ve hit the mark. Also there was this Eastern European film that’s name I can’t remember for the death of me, that was so weird and vulgar that I stopped watching it after 30min because I couldn’t really stomach it.

      • Nah, I did see that though (well speedrewwed through it). But this one was something really strange with sadomasocism, and peeping toms and food used in way food shouldn’t be used.

    • : – D No, it came out in like 2007 or 2008 ! I think the title had one word … there might have been a pig on the DVD cover … (haha and it’s not Delicatessen : – D). In the beginning there’s some really nasty looking guys peeping on some fat lady in a tub and pleasing themselves (sounds like a great one eyh?). I was working at a movie rental at the time so went through like 3 films a day, so far this is the only title I’ve forgotten.

      • YES John amazing, taxidermia was the one I was looking for, I really just saw the beginning and thought it was disgusting : – D Is it actually worth an other try or just way too sick !?

      • That’s a tough one because I really enjoyed it. But it doesn’t really get any less disgusting. It just becomes disgusting in other, different ways.

  2. Hey,
    I’m the guy who wrote that list of the weirdest movies ever. Thanks for spreading the word, it’s wickedcakes to see people liking your stuff :) Your blog looks pretty nice too!

    Max

Leave a comment