Even if the movie sucks I’d watch it for …

Even the best of them don’t get it right every time. On occasion your favourite actors and actresses star in quite overwhelming efforts or films that don’t really catch your attention due to their flailing mediocre nature. There are a few guys and girls though who would drag me to the cinema every time, and often they surprise you!


Woody Harrelson
Who knew that Defendor qould actually be a surprisingly twisted and funny affair? Harrelson is one of those whose characters all always different, usually crazy, but oh so ever entertaining.


Charlize Theron
Charlize hasn’t really been hitting it out of the park in the past few years after some really amazing dramatic roles in the first half of the last decade. But it’s mainly her that makes me interested in Snow White and the Huntsman, which actually (by the trailer) looks quite brilliant!


John Cusack
John Cusack definitely doesn’t have the best track record when it comes to his acting (or directing .. Serendipity anyone?) choices. Despite that he always has this air that intrigues me enough to check out all of his work. He seems like a passionate guy, a guy who really gets into everything they’re doing with such intensity that it’d be a shame to miss that. With 6 (!) new films in 2012, be prepared to place him back on the map.


Paul Giamatti
Despite his inevitable hipster films, Giamatti is one those actors who deliver, in a big way. His talent is incomparable, and is up there with the best character actors of our time. Despite a slur of quirky indie comedies (which imo are being overrepresented) I tend to watch all of Paul’s immaculate work.


Naomi Watts
She might not be the flashiest or even the most talented actress out there but Naomi still has grabbed onto a place in my mind as a marker of quality assurance. She tends to pick really great scripts, and even if they do tend to sometimes go over to the dark side (and by the dark side I mean the really boring side) she’s still a wonderful actress who deserves more recignition.


Patrick Wilson
I don’t even remember when I realized that Wilson is the man. Possibly after Little Children? Watchmen? I don’t even know why I consider him to be the man. He’s got great acting chops, and I guess I keep watching everything he makes waiting for that one special films that proves he’s got the potential to become one of the best working actors out there. Time will tell.. Prometheus will tell…

16 responses to “Even if the movie sucks I’d watch it for …

  1. I have to agree with your picks Harrelson and Watts, both are always worth the time to go see a film. Good candidates for this category of “film savers” would also be Jeff Bridges in Men Who Stare at Goats (OK movie, but not that great) and Ron Perlman (Hellboy).

  2. Billy Crudup. I will see anything Billy Crudup does. Even Eat, Pray, Love (shudder).

    And why isn’t Patrick Wilson a bigger name? He just kind of seems to unfortunately slide under the radar. I’ve always enjoyed him.

  3. Giamatti is always fun to watch, as is Woody Harrelson. For me I would say Denzel Washington, Amy Adams and Russell Crowe are actors I almost never miss a movie with them in.

  4. I can’t argue about any of your choices Anna.

    I have a weakness for Nic Cage. even though I can almost guarantee I will be moaning about the film afterwards….. he always gets a pass

  5. I LOVE your list here. Most of these are people I have to say “ditto” on! Harrelson, Theron, Giamatti, Cusack. I just don’t care too much for Naomi Watts. And Patrick Wilson…he may happen to be in a film I go to see for another reason, but he hasn’t impressed me enough to be the reason to watch a film. (i.e. Insidious) but I did like Watchmen, Morning Glory, and The Switch!

Leave a Reply

