My 10 Favourite Firsts

My Favourite Directorial Debut
Being John Malkovich by Spike Jonze

My Favourite Acting Debut
Leonardo DiCaprio in This Boy’s Life

The First Movie Theatre Experience That Moved Me
Mufasa dies in The Lion King

The First Film Character I Had the Hots For
Han Solo (Harrison Ford) in Star Wars

The First Film Character That Annoyed The Hell Out Of Me
Willie Scott in Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom

The First French Film I Saw
Les Enfants Terribles by Jean-Pierre Melville

The First Asian Film I Saw
Akira Kurosawa’s Akahige

The First Movie Poster on my Wall
The Hurricane – original poster

The First Time I Thought The Film Was Better Than The Book
Forrest Gump, based on the novel by Winston Groom

The First Time I Realized Robert De Niro is a Genius
His performance as Jake La Motta in Raging Bull

18 responses to “My 10 Favourite Firsts

  1. That’s an interesting take on the ‘questions’ post idea Anna. It’s interesting to learn a little bit about the blogger behind the blog and what their early movie experiences were like. I’d give my own answers but I think I’m all memed out at this stage. Maybe sometime in the future I’ll tackle these questions, they are pretty original ones.

    • Thanks Ronan! Yeah, I know youre feeling about memes, you read so many of them and afterwards I often feel whether there’s anything left for me to say / pick. So I guess picking my own questions was kind of a reflection on that sentiment haha.

  2. This is really difficult! I think the only one I can come up with is

    First R rated movie I ever saw
    True Lies

    I’d have to change the categories around. I remember all anyone could talk about in elementary school was Mufasa dying. Ah the memories.

  3. Wow what a list. Some real belters in there. My favs are;

    • The First Time I Realized Robert De Niro is a Genius
    • The First Time I Thought The Film Was Better Than The Book
    • The First Film Character That Annoyed The Hell Out Of Me

    Again, great list.

  4. Pingback: My Ten Favourite Firsts·

Leave a comment