My 7 Favourite Films in Spanish

¡Viva España! Some of the best filmmaking countries in the world often get overwhelmed by the sheer volume of the anglocentric domination of cinemas around the world. Argentina, Mexico and Spain have vivid traditions in the art of film and have produced some absolutely fantastic movies. Not to mention, the Spanish language is one of the most gorgeous things on the planet. In tribute, here are my favourite films from A, M and S.

El Aura (2005)

A mistaken identity turns into a case of extreme crime; El Aura brings us taxidermia and delusion. With Argentina’s shining star, Ricardo Darín the film is an obscure crime thriller classic.

Carne Tremula (1997)

Let’s face it, Almodovar is practically a genius of filmmaking, and any of his films deserves a place on this list. Why did I choose Carne Tremula? This often disregarded piece of fates coming together has the exuberance of a teenage boy mixed with the maturity of a 50’s diva. A tale of passion with incredible cinematography, ‘Live Flesh’ is definitely one of the best films to come out of Spain.

Amores Perros (2000)

I’m not sure if it’s legal to hype a film as much as I do with Amores Perros. I’ve already given it a 10 / 10 on the blog, so what else is there to do except repeat; out of all the films I’ve seen Amores Perros has had the biggest effect on me emotionally, psychologically, physically, socially, politically.

La Ciénaga (2001)

‘The Swamp’ is a story of family, of two women and their lives in a small town in Argentina. A moment in time, La Ciénaga boasts with great actros, great scenery and an air of romanticism so often lacking in modern filmmaking.

La Comunidad (2000)

Todos quiren lo mismo. La Comunidad (Common Wealth) is one dark, twisted fantasy. Almost like a creepy version of Los Serrano, the film works with black comedy as is its compadre. Fun-fuelled, etraordinary.

Te Doy Mis Ojos (2003)

A woman trying to escape her abusive husband, Te Doy Mis Ojos gave light to two unbelievable performances by the phenomenal Luis Tosar and Laia Marull. Strong, frightening, moving, the film bagged a very respectable number of Goyas in 2004.

El Espinazo Del Diablo (2001)

The Devil’s Backbone, is maybe surprisingly, but by far, my favourite Del Toro (not that the others are far off). The film is so delicate and poetic, yet grandeuse, it’s very difficult to see how Del Toro was able to create such a perfect balance of fear and love.

Special mentions : Y Tu Mamá También (2001), El Orfanato (2007), Mar Adentro (2004), Sólo Con Tu Pareja (1991), [Rec] (2007), Celda 211 (2009).

16 responses to “My 7 Favourite Films in Spanish

    • Yep, as I said any Almodovar films should be on this list! The ones you mention are great.

      Do you mean Secuestrados? I was supposed to see it at Espoo Ciné FIlm Festival but sadly missed it, hope to catch it soon.

      I wasn’t the biggest fan of Biutiful though, even though I love Bardem and Iñarritu.

      Thanks for commenting : – ))

  1. I’d probably throw in El Topo, Pan’s Labyrinth, and Talk to Her on there; That Obscure Object of Desire, too. But a great list and one I can’t really find any fault with.

    • Pan’s is not my favourite del Toro at all. I very much prefer Hellboy, Devil’s and Cronos! Saying that, it’s still an awesome film compared to others.

      Love Almodovar, Talk to her could’ve easily been on this list instead of Carne!

  2. I need to check some of these out. I have seen, and like, Amores Perros and The Devil’s Backbone. The Devil’s Backbone is especially good and one of the best ghost stories I have seen.

  3. I third the Amores Perros love which is possibly the best Innaritu movie. so much heart.

    Love this list and it makes me want to check out Javi’s work before he got his first Oscar nomination in Before Night Falls.

Leave a Reply

