24/30 Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)

A Film That Reminds You of Your Past

As a kid I’d spend most of my summers in the archipelago at our summer house (it’s basically a cabin in the woods), with no connection to the outer world. The nearest shop was 35 minute boatride away and we didn’t have running water (we still don’t but it’s all cool baby, we have a sauna and we pump water out of the ocean). We did have a tv though. One of those old boxy ones, and a huge antenna that would mess up the picture every time it rained / stormed / was windy and my dad had to climb on top of the house to fix it. Years ago MTV3 (the first commercial channel in Finland) would show all these amazing 40’s and 50’s comedies everyday around 5pm and I’d make everyone watch them and then grab a sauna and run around naked (I was kid ok? It was accetable!).

I absolutely adore Cary Grant, his films are so light and fun (these types of comedies are the only ones I don’t really bitch and moan about) and he just might be the most charismatic actor ever (well not really, but let’s pretend for the sake of argument).

Look I probably should have told you this before but you see… well… insanity runs in my family… It practically gallops.

P.S. I’m 21. Do I really have “a past”?

12 responses to “24/30 Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)

  1. You have a childhood and it totally counts as a past. :D

    I also remember when MTV3 showed old comedies and Tarzan movies in the afternoon. I was really addicted to Jerry Lewis’s films when they were showed. Nowadays I can’t stand them but as a nine year old I was the biggest fan. Maybe I should watch Tarzan’s again because I haven’t seen any of the old ones since my childhood.

    Nostalgia, I hate you so much.

    And yeah, Arsenic and Old Lace is still funny.

  2. Childhoods certainly do count as a past. As for “Arsenic and Old Lace” – this film is on my Netflix instant quene. Looking forward to it.

    As for charisma … Jimmy Stewart …. have you seen “Harvey?”

    Good post :D

    • Yes! Now that you’ve reminded me of Harvey I wonder if Donnie Darko was inspired by it .. in some twisted way.

      Pasts are like .. fuck .. umm .. something that happened to me before I changed my name and moved to Alaska. A childhood is a childhood.

  3. The Original Broadway production starred Boris Karloff, and I kinda wished I was around to see him in a ‘Cary Grant-‘like role.

    In general, yes, I miss the era when hot people like Cary were allowed to be funny. He was slapstick genius without having to really compromise himself.

  4. Woof! I had to take a moment to admire that second picture. They don’t make men like this anymore… he’s absolutely beautiful AND funny, what more could you ask for in a man? ;)

  5. I love love love this picture. Grant had excellent timing as a comedic actor and he could definitely do the dramatic turns as well. An all around great actor!

  6. What? Isn’t taking a sauna and running around naked afterwards acceptable when you’re thirty…something?

    I LOVED the old movie marathons way back, when I was… a little younger. Also when YLE (non-commercial channel) used to show daily old black and white Finnish films. We used to have such a booming film industry… What ever happened to that…

    • I don’t know what happened?! I’m thinking a combination of a broadcasting monopoly and the rise of television.

      They’re showing them now on Fridays, have you noticed?

  7. This movie was odd and much darker than I expected it would be. Still its Cary at his near best here making this moody but still delightful. Gosh, they broke the mold when they made him didn’t they?

    Aside from ‘Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House’ I think My Favorite Wife is my favorite Cary Grant film…has he ever made a bad film?:P

Leave a Reply

