21/30 Magnolia (1999)

A Film With Your Favourite Actor (Female)

Magnolia = Heaven. Paul Thomas Anderson is ingenious. Julianne Moore is gorgeous. Most of all the film is a celebration of the great supporting actors of our time, Philip Seymour Hoffman, John C. Reilly, Philip Baker Hall and William H. Macy, and the epicness of life, pain and suffering.

It doesn’t sacrifice anything in order to please, but rather pushes the boundaries of people that are used to hold their consentration for no longer than 43 minutes. It also gave a deserved nudge to filmmakers, proving that not only could a film aimed at a wide audience experiment, it should do so.

Julianne Moore works her magic as usual.

9 responses to “21/30 Magnolia (1999)

  1. I love Julianne Moore – she’s so talented.

    Need to see “Magnolia”, badly – she was great in “Boogie Nights”, though.

    Good post.

  2. I think my favourite “Magnolia moment” is between the tom cruise character and his father by the bed, such a powerful scene that will stay with me always.
    Has many emotional scenes, I guess that’s what makes it great for me. And I agree, was a terrific effort by the supporting actors involved. One of the best ensemble films around in my mind.

  3. Huge PTA fan. You should check out A Single Man and Far From Heaven if you haven’t seen then. She’s fabulous – obviously.

    • Love PTA. I’ve seen Far from heaven, it’s great but I’m ashamed to admit that I have not seen A Single Man.. it’s one of the few films of recent years that I haven’t seen but really really want to. Need to get round to it.

  4. I just finished watching ‘Magnolia’ for the first time last night and I was very pleased. The film had been put on a pedestal for far too long from friends, that I had to dive in and finally give it the time it deserved. I loved the endless references to Exodus 8:2 throughout the film and it is easily Tom Cruise’s best role.

  5. I’m a HUGE fan of Aimee Mann so a movie based around her music was the best kind of present. The scene where everyone starts singing ‘Wise Up’ gives me chills every single time. Great movie.

  6. Yeah……great film…….great cast. Julianne Moore………just super and one thing to come out of this………Tom Cruise is an ACTOR!!!!!

Leave a Reply

