17/30 Zombieland (2009)

The Film That No One Expected You To Like

Zombieland was one of those films that fought the odds of predictability. Instead of going the expected lowgrade way, it ended up being fresh, intelligent and exciting. No one expected me to like this, the only reason I even ended up seeing it was my undying admiration of Woody Harrelson and the hype Eisenberg had been gathering.

I don’t like Sam Raimi. I’m sorry geekazoids, he just doesn’t cut it for me. I’m not at all into zombie horror, I like some slashers, and horror that has more of a psychological edge. I’m really, extremely picky when it comes to comedy. I don’t get the Emma Stone love; yeah, she’s cute but is she in any way an exciting, exceptionally talented actress? No. So, all this considered, it was quite a surprise that Zombieland shot itself straight into my top 10 of 2009.

Zombieland mixed genres with ease and found a cast that might’ve possibly had the best chemistry I’d seen onscreen in a while. I have no doubt this shall live on as a cult classic, an instant favourite passed on by word-of-mouth.

5 responses to “17/30 Zombieland (2009)

  1. Amusing film although I was left unimpressed after seeing it in theater. I barely laughed at the time but I have grown to like it more on subsequent viewings.

  2. I haven’t seen this one apart from the last scene w/ Bill Murray. My hubby likes it a lot so I may see it in its entirety one of these days. Glad you enjoyed it, Anna.

  3. Love the mostly Oscar nominated cast, and regret that I didn’t see this in theatres. How’s Jesse Eisenberg in it? Is he tougher than most of his roles? His chemistry with Emma Stone?

    • Nah, not really maybe he gets so towards the end, but it’s mostly based on the same role he usually does. It gets highlighted quite a bit with Harrelson’s n questions asked type of out there tough guy act. The chemistry? It’s there, but it’s a bit different.

Leave a Reply

