11/30 High Fidelity (2000)

Your Favourite Romantic Film

High Fidelity might just be one of the most quotable and enjoyable movies I’ve ever seen. It’s in no way perfect, but the writing is sharp, clever and spot-on, John Cusack is immense, the music is off the charts wonderful and even Jack Black is bearable. Based on Nick Hornby’s, an English pop novelist’s, book of the same name, High Fidelity infuses love with music and romantic love in a fresh, exciting way as Cusack’s character Rob goes on to find out why all his relationships fall apart. This film made me fall in love with a lot of songs, or work at a record shop, or become a DJ (none of this is going to happen, or is something I would ever pursue) because it’s all so cool. For me Rob’s character might be the ultimate guy out there, sarcastic, tortured, lovable. With memorable moment after memorable moment, this cult classic is a feel-good makes you feel-bad film with immense heart and humour.

Rob : Liking both Marvin Gaye and Art Garfunkel is like supporting both the Israelis and the Palestinians.
Laura : No, it’s really not, Rob. You know why? Because Marvin Gaye and Art Garfunkel make pop records.
Rob : Made. Made. Marvin Gaye is dead. His father shot him.

Rob : What came first, the music or the misery? People worry about kids playing with guns, or watching violent videos, that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands, literally thousands of songs about heartbreak, rejection, pain, misery and loss. Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?

Barry : How about the Jesus and Mary Chain?
Barry’s Customer : They always seemed…
Barry : They always seemed what? They always seemed really great is what they always seemed. They picked up where your precious Echo left off, and you’re sitting around complaining about no more Echo albums. I can’t believe you don’t own this fucking record. (tosses the record to the customer and walks away) That’s insane. Jesus.

Rob : …I agreed that what really matters is what you like, not what you are like… Books, records, films – these things matter. Call me shallow but it’s the fuckin’ truth, and by this measure I was having one of the best dates of my life.

12 responses to “11/30 High Fidelity (2000)

  1. In my opinion, the novel is so much better than this, but I still had a great time here watching John Cusack, Jack Black, and Todd Louiso just rant and rant on about music. Good Review!

  2. I agree whole-heartedly! High Fidelity is one of my all-time desert island top 5 films (and books!) :D I’m a fan of John Cusack and he does such an amazing job playing Rob right down to a tee. And Rob is definitely like my ideal guy :D And thanks to High Fidelity, I really really really want to start my own record store ♥

  3. High Fidelity is such an awesome movie!! I can’t find words. Cusack, the music, the romance.. Which doesn’t even make me puke. <3

  4. I absolutely love High Fidelity. Nice pick. It’s such a great movie and definitely has to be one of my favorite romantic movies. I really like John Cusack and usually enjoy anything he’s in (or at least enjoy his work in it).

    Another of his romantic movies that I like is Serendipity. Already it has Cusack in it, but it also has Beckinsale (whom I have a crush on), so it’s like a double treat for me. Actually, make that three times the goodness because of Jeremy Piven. I love his character in that movie.

    I definitely have to say High Fidelity is the better movie of the two, though. I’ve seen High Fidelity tons of times and love it every time I watch it.

    • Serendipity was nice. Didn’t Cusack write the script? I think it’s hilarious that he’s been dissing it for the past few years in interviews, being like ‘How did that happen?’.

      • No he didn’t write the script for Serendipity. He did help write the script for High Fidelity though (and Grosse Pointe Blank).

        And never knew he went around dissing Serendipity. Not sure why, I liked that movie.

  5. Love the record store scenes, and the top 5 stuff. And a great soundtrack in its own right, my personal fav track would be Bob Dylans “Most of the time”

Leave a Reply

