10/30 Blade Runner (1982)

Your Favourite SciFi / Fantasy Film

Director’s cut me! Blade Runner, I accept you as the overlord of science fiction.

I love Ridley Scott. I love Philip K. Dick. I love Harrisson Ford. I love cyberpunk.

Roy : We’ve got a lot in common.
Sebastian : What do you mean?
Roy : Similar problems.
Pris : Accelerated decrepitude.

Tyrell : We began to recognize in them a strange obsession. After all, they are emotionally inexperienced, with only a few years in which to store up the experiences which you and I take for granted. If we gift them with a past, we create a cushion or a pillow for their emotions, and consequently, we can control them better.
Deckard : Memories! You’re talking about memories!

Deckard : I don’t know why he saved my life. Maybe in those last moments he loved life more than he ever had before. Not just his life – anybody’s life; my life. All he’d wanted were the same answers the rest of us want. Where did I come from? Where am I going? How long have I got? All I could do was sit there and watch him die.

6 responses to “10/30 Blade Runner (1982)

  1. Such beautiful art direction, you can tell this was a labour of love for Ridley Scott. And the monologue near the end by Rutger Hauer was such a peaceful yet powerful moment. I did a sum up of the dvd extras in my review, if you’re interested in some trivia bits!

    I noticed I’m not on your blogroll, cool if you’d add me ( : btw, never heard of Océans (2009) ,will have to try that one ( :

    • There’s so many aspects to this film that I love, the more I think about it.

      Don’t know how that happened, added you now Chris! Océans is definitely worth a checkin out.

  2. No dvd release tested my patience like the deluxe edition of this film. I love BR so much that I had it in my hand everytime I went into the shop, but knew that a better version of it would be coming out someday..”someday” took about seven years to arrive!

    “Wake up – It’s time to die.”

  3. Indeed, Blade Runner (and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep) is best science fiction material ever. I especially like how this movie suggests that andys and ordinary human beings do not differ much at all.

    Still can’t believe that Rutger Hauer improvised “Tears in the Rain” scene!
    *dials 103 from Mood Organ*

Leave a Reply

