Desert Island CD – 12 Movie Tunes To Take With You On a Desert Island

Anomalous Material is hosting a Desert Island CD Blogathon today. Which 12 movie music tracks would you take on a desert island with you? Any film score will do and it doesn’t matter if the song was written before (or after?) it as long as it’s included on the soundtrack.

Music in a movie is ment to capture the feel of the film, and a lot of the time it does so subtly so that you don’t even realise. The ones that’ve moved me the most have either made me emotionally invested or the lyrics have given another level to the content of the film. For me at it’s best the score is made for the film and it moves in unicent with the rythm, the story and the emotions. The best ones live on as classics and bring back memories.

Here are my twelve picks :

Artist songs

1. “Across 110th Street” by Bobby Womack – 3:48

Take my advice, it’s either live or die.
You’ve got to be strong, if you want to survive.

Possibly my favourite movie soundtrack is the Jackie Brown one of my absolute Tarantino favourites, features one of the best song ever by one of the coolest people ever Mr. Womack.


2. “Times They Are A-Changing” by Bob Dylan -3:14

And the first one now
Will later be last
For the times they are a-changin’.

Watching this sequence in Watchmen was one of my best movie experiences ever, the excitement of what was coming was peeking and it was crown by Bob Dylan. It’s Dylan, does Dylan need reasons?



3. “Hurricane” by Bob Dylan – 8:33

Rubin could take a man out with just one punch
But he never did like to talk about it all that much
It’s my work he’d say and I do it for pay
And when it’s over I’d just as soon go on my way
Up to some paradise

For me The Hurricane and Denzel’s performance in it are hugely underrated. An epic song yet again by the genius Bob Dylan.

Youtube has deleted all the original versions of the song.

4. “The Passenger” by Iggy Pop – 4:38

We’ll be the passenger
We’ll ride through the city tonight
See the citys ripped insides
We’ll see the bright and hollow sky
We’ll see the stars that shine so bright
The sky was made for us tonight.

Trainspotting had such amazing music that they made two soundtracks on consequtive years, this was on the seconde one. A classic that wouldn’t be on this list if I had to watch Pop’s music video.


5. “Sounds Of Silence” by Simon & Garfunkel – 3:06

Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence.

The Graduate soundtrack was hugely popular when it came out due to the success of Simon & Garfunkel. Tune.


6. “Hollow Talk” by Choir of Young Believers – 5:21

There’s never been bad, there has always been truth,
Muted whisper of the things she’ll move.

Submarino is a dramatic, dark and depressing depiction of a family gone wrong. Hollow Talk captured that feel perfectly and elevated the film to a new level.


Instrumentals

7. “Theme Song” in Gladiator – 2:18

I always put Gladiator up there with my all time favourite films, and the music is a big part of it. 1.27 -> is pure magic.


8. “The Departure of Boromir” in The Lord of The Rings : The Fellowship of The Ring – 5:56

All the LOTR soundtracks are magnificient and beautiful. I’m a complete nerd for them and not afraid to admit it. I related a lot to Boromir.


9. “Theme Song” in Schindler’s List – 5:01

Best .. violin .. ever.


10. “Benedictus” in American History X – 3:39

Danny : -(


11. “Main Theme” in Ratatouille – 2:13

I can’t express how much I love Michael Giacchino; I think he’s absolutely one of the best out there, and should be a household name like Shore, Williams, Elfman etc. His European influence is a lovely addition to what he does, the Italian and French tones to his music take you there.


12. “Main Theme” in A Beautiful Mind – 3:03

Galactic, strong and sad. Captures the desperation and the madness and the hope in the film perfectly. With this song I remember completely what the film made me feel.


Bonus tracks – Are bonus tracks cheating? I think not.

00. “De Perros Amores” by Control Machete – 3:54

Amanece el alma atravesé en ti.

Such a haunted song, in an even more haunted film; Amores Perros is filled with amazing songs of which Control Machete shines through.


01. “Falling Slowly” by Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova – 4:51

I don’t know you
but I want you all the more for that.

22 responses to “Desert Island CD – 12 Movie Tunes To Take With You On a Desert Island

  1. Interesting list. I’m trying to figure out which I’d choose. Quickly thinking, Times They Are A-Changing and Sound Of Silence could be on the list, as well as Falling Slowly. But yeah, this requires a bit of time to ponder.

    • Yeah and it’s not an easy task. You always forget about some important song and such, I tried to go by which songs I could listen to over and over again without getting bored. Like obviously there’s some great score music other than this, some even better, but TBH how many times can you listen to “The Imperial March” without going insane?

  2. Pingback: Desert Island CD — ANOMALOUS MATERIAL·

  3. Jackie Brown! I forgot(!) Tarantino movie soundtracks in my post! My pick would maybe be Pulp Fiction… “Girl, didiidiidii, you’ll be a woman soon, Soon, didiidiidii..” ;)

  4. Some really great classics on this list. Absolutely love the Gladiator theme as well as most of LOTR’s tracks. A Beautiful Mind was a bit bland for me but the soundtrack is certainly magnificent. Thanks for participating Anna!

  5. I almost put Schindler’s List, but thought it might be too depressing of a cd since I already put Saving Private Ryan on it! Thank you for reminding me of The Hurricane. The music from the trailer was actually one of the reasons I had to watch it when I was younger.

    • I realised that a lot of my picks for instrumentals are quite melancholic, but that’s the way I like it a-ha! It is really sad though, but I’m going to cheer my self up with Giacchino. Haven’t seen The Hurricane in ages..

  6. Yay on Gladiator and LOTR, though it’s hard to choose which one to include from the latter. I ended up going with May It Be. I have the same reason as Scarlet about Schindler’s List, LOVE the score but I might be too sad listening to it. I was gonna put Jurassic Park on my list but then I might get too paranoid there were dinosaurs on the island, ha.. ha..

  7. LOVE the split of pop songs and instrumentals, and am insanely jealous that I didn’t think of such a format.

    Great mix – and might I also mention, your blog has itself a new follower!

  8. Sounds of Silence, great pick. I think we tend to only associate Mrs. Robinson with The Graduate but this is a much better song. You have lots of great sweeping tunes. Nice job.

  9. Oooh, so many favourites: Jackie Brown, the Dylan song from Watchmen (Watchmen as a whole would make me a very happy woman if there only wasn’t for that one disturbing version of Hallelujah..), Simon & Garfunkel, LOTR soundtracks (nerd in crime over here \o/), A Beautiful Mind..
    Guess I have to write my own list :)

  10. “The Times They Are A-Changin'” is such a universally terrific song, especially as used in “Watchmen.”

  11. You really had me with your first five songs, but kind of lost me in a daze of instrumentals I can’t place by name after that. And even though there’s a movie named for him, if I’m going with “Hurricane,” (one of my absolute favorite Dylan tracks), I gotta take its usage in Dazed and Confused first. I wanna walk into a pool hall in slow motion with that blaring…

    • Sure I get it; my thought process behind picking so many instrumentals was the desert island factor. I can sometimes really burn through a song (an artist song) by listening to it waay too much and it takes me months, even years to find it again and listen it to it with fresh ears and ideas. That doesn’t happen to me with instrumentals (classical music) since am not tied to a certain limited amount of emotional scenarios through the lyrics!

      That scene in D and C is brilliant, just wanted to show some love for Hurricane; somehow not a lot of people have seen it.

  12. Completely agree about Giacchino, although if I were to pick one of his tracks it’d probably be something from UP or maybe LOST.

    Love the opening to JACKIE BROWN as well!

Leave a Reply

