Trailer time! Pt. 3 : We need to get 2011 started already!

2011 hasn’t really had that much interesting stuff coming out yet. It’s all about to get better in April/May! Hail April/May! This year has had a really slow start, like most years due to the Oscar film’s coming out in wider release worldwide, but these are some films that can and should shed some light on the world of film.


Thor

My favourite of the Avengers Thor is hitting the big screen as propably the comicbook adaptation with the highest expectations. The surprising choice of director, the master of Shakespeare, Kenneth Branagh and a cast including acting veterans like Anthony Hopkins and Stellan Skarsgård, newly Oscared Natalie Portman, The Wire alumni like Idris Elba and newcomer Chris Hemworth as the leading Norse god, for me there’s not much that can go wrong. In the top 5 for most anticipated of the year for me.


Win Win

If you’ve seen the likes of The Visitor and The Station Agent you know that Thomas McCarthy’s newest quirky comedy is a must-see. With Paul Giamatti and Amy Ryan that are both equally hilarious and underrated I can see Win Win being this year’s indie hit.



Apollo 18

It’s paranormal activity. On the moon. ‘Nuff said.


Sucker Punch

Continuing Zack Snyder’s highly visual style, he’s finally getting his own story onscreen. A little bit of thriller mixed in with fantasy and action could make or break this film; but looking at Znyder’s track record, I wouldn’t be surprised if it all turns out awesome.


Rango

Out this weekend, Rango’s gotten great reviews for it’s capturing of the traditional Western. Voiced by Johnny Depp, Isla Fisher and Timothy Olyphant this seems like the animation of the year that is the grown-up’s favourite.


X-Men : First Class

I’m such a big fan of the X-Men franchise (let’s forget about Wolverine okay!) that you wouldn’t believe. First Class has the potential of being the best in the movie series. Starring two of the best up’n’coming male leads, James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender and an allround ‘hip’ (if I dare use the word) cast.


Meek’s Cutoff

I’ve always liked Michelle Williams and her career moves, grace and talent, but Blue Valentine completely one me over with her. She’s starring in Kelly Reichardt’s newest Meek’s Cutoff this spring.

3 responses to “Trailer time! Pt. 3 : We need to get 2011 started already!

  1. I’m getting really burnt out on superhero movies. Not to mention, especially in comparison to 2012, this year’s superhero movies just look weak. So I’m not all excited for any of those hitting theaters this year.

    Sucker Punch, though, is one of my more anticipated movies this year. And it’s right around the corner, so I’m excited about that. Apollo 18 I definitely want to see as well. I’ve enjoyed the Paranormal Activity movies and this seems to be right down that same alley…just on the moon. Should be a fun one.

    Win Win I also want to see just because I enjoy Paul Giamatti. However, that one might have to wait till it hits DVD.

    • The Green Hornet was definitely a disappointment and I’m not even sure if I’m going to see the Green Lantern at all. I’m really excited about Thor though, I’m keeping my hopes up.

      • I knew from the start Green Hornet was going to suck. Green Lantern I’m not caring for either. Thor could maybe be alright as well as Captain America, but I’m not exactly excited. I was hoping X-Men would be good, but it’s not looking that way so my interest has waned.

Leave a Reply

