83rd Annual Academy Awards Nominees

… and my predictions of winners. Even though this year was, at least for anyone who paid any attention a very predictable nominee year, we can still celebrate some great films on this list, and even some mild surprises! The expected diss for sci-fi (Nolan’s personal masterpiece not nominated for directing), the perhaps unexcpected love for the Coen brothers, True Grit and Jeff Bridges, Michelle Williams’ nomination for best actress, Mark Ruffalo for best supporting and Javier Bardem for best actor, Nolan’s and Boyle’s snub for best director.. What’s there to say besides, cannot wait! The winners will be announced Sunday 27th of February!

Best Motion Picture of the Year :

127 Hours
Black Swan
The Fighter
Inception
The Kids Are All Right
The King’s Speech
The Social Network
Toy Story 3
True Grit
Winter’s Bone

For me this is a battle between The Social Network and The King’s Speech. But I’m going with TSN, just due to the fact that most often Best Film and Director go hand in hand, and TBH I don’t see any way Tom Hooper would defeat the Finch in that category.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Javier Bardem for Biutiful
Jeff Bridges for True Grit
Jesse Eisenberg for The Social Network
Colin Firth for The King’s Speech
James Franco for 127 Hours

The year of the Jays. Inclusion of Javier and Jeff were surprising, I didn’t think that they would nominate Bridges afer winning last year, but his ‘Rooster’ in True Grit was pretty fantabulous. But still for sure this for Colin Firth? Unless they pull out the wild card and give it to Franco.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Annette Bening for The Kids Are All Right
Nicole Kidman for Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence for Winter’s Bone
Natalie Portman for Black Swan
Michelle Williams for Blue Valentine

This is the most unpredictable category by far. They’ll probably go the safe pregant-and-engaged-Harvardee, but any of these women is well deserving. Bening has long been overshadowed but got glory in the Globes; Nicole Kidman has finally laid off the Botox to play a grieving mother in the tearjerker Rabbit Hole; Lawrence and Williams are THE young actresses to watch. It’s tricky, but I still prefer Lawrence by an inch above all and hope they don’t go with Portman. No one wants to hear that speech again..

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Christian Bale for The Fighter
John Hawkes for Winter’s Bone
Jeremy Renner for The Town
Mark Ruffalo for The Kids Are All Right
Geoffrey Rush for The King’s Speech

John Hawkes! Mark Ruffalo! Jeez.. Bale is so getting this right? He’s been putting up the good guy routine for a quite a while now, he’s promoting like hell and he already got the Globe and got a little showbiz when accepting it. Some spice in speeches the Academy says. Bale FTW!

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Amy Adams for The Fighter
Helena Bonham Carter for The King’s Speech
Melissa Leo for The Fighter
Hailee Steinfeld for True Grit
Jacki Weaver for Animal Kingdom

I have faith that one day people will get over how weird Bonham Carter is and give her the acting respect she deserves, but I don’t think this is the time yet. Great category, for me the female performances ruled 2010. I’m going with Weaver, her performance was crazy good, but it could be either of the Fighter ladies too. You pick!

Best Achievement in Directing

Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan
Ethan Coen, Joel Coen for True Grit
David Fincher for The Social Network
Tom Hooper for The King’s Speech
David O. Russell for The Fighter

A little F U to the Academy for dissing Nolan (if you go sci-fi forgetaboutit) .. Maybe they’re counting on the third Batman to give this to him, and even if he had been nominated he wouldn’t have won because this is grumpy Finchie’s year! Love the Finch + he hates events = should be an interesting night.

Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen

Another Year by Mike Leigh
The Fighter by Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson
Inception by Christopher Nolan
The Kids Are All Right by Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg
The King’s Speech by David Seidler

For the characters this should go to The Fighter, for overall emotion to The King’s Speech, for creativity Inception(haha as if!).

Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published

127 Hours : Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy
The Social Network : Aaron Sorkin
Toy Story 3 : Michael Arndt, John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton, Lee Unkrich
True Grit : Joel Coen, Ethan Coen
Winter’s Bone : Debra Granik, Anne Rosellini

This is a really tough one. 127 should be commended for even making that story work at all, True Grit is one of the finest adaption works I’ve ever seen as is Winter’s Bone, but this is one of those trio thing Film, Director, Screenplay. Plus Sorkin looks good in photos.

Best Animated Feature Film of the Year

How to Train Your Dragon : Dean DeBlois, Chris Sanders
The Illusionist : Sylvain Chomet
Toy Story 3 : Lee Unkrich

How hard they campaign, we are still years away from an Animated Feature winning the Best Film Category. Sorry, this is all you’re getting for now. Maybe Toy Story 4? …

Best Foreign Language Film of the Year

Biutiful : Alejandro González Iñárritu (Mexico)
Dogtooth : Giorgos Lanthimos (Greece)
In a Better World : Susanne Bier (Denmark)
Incendies : Denis Villeneuve(Canada)
Outside the Law : Rachid Bouchareb (Algeria)

I want to have said that I’ve seen all of these, but I would be lying. Biutiful and In A Better World are the only ones. I’m picking Biutiful because I love Iñárritu. A lot. Before Babel.

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Black Swan : Matthew Libatique
Inception : Wally Pfister
The King’s Speech : Danny Cohen
The Social Network : Jeff Cronenweth
True Grit : Roger Deakins

This for me the most handsdown thing (discluding Fincher) that made The Social Network. I mean that rowing scene made me want to die happy.



Best Achievement in Editing

127 Hours : Jon Harris
Black Swan : Andrew Weisblum
The Fighter : Pamela Martin
The King’s Speech : Tariq Anwar
The Social Network : Kirk Baxter, Angus Wall

People rarely get how much films are about editing, none of the acting and directing works if it’s not supported by great editing gift. I’m throwing my support behind the lady. It’s a very maledominated area (just like directing) and Martin truly has balls, loved the sharp cuts in The Fighter.



Best Documentary, Features

Exit Through the Gift Shop : Banksy, Jaimie D’Cruz
GasLand : Josh Fox
Inside Job : Charles Ferguson
Restrepo : Tim Hetherington, Sebastian Junger
Waste Land : Lucy Walker

Love this category, and love the love for Banksy. If he won, it would be truly interesting to see what happens on stage. But the things that I’ve heard about Restrepo… Win!

For a full list of nominees on IMDB, click here.

16 responses to “83rd Annual Academy Awards Nominees

  1. Pingback: John Hawkes·

  2. I’m not surprised that they nominated Bridges again. After all, Tom Hanks was nominated for Philadelphia and Forrest Gump on consecutive years and won for both performances. Still, I so hoping that Firth will do make a double-whammy and win… which he propably will.. here’s hoping :).

    I’m rooting for Benning and Lawrence for the award, the mature woman, or young new-comer, both deserving.

    I thought that Hawkes’ performance was awesome! I loved him in Winters bone! I’d love to see Rush making the winners speech, quite unlikely, just because he made me feel so good when I saw The Kings Speech. I ADORE that film!

    I’m standing my ground. I want to give all the Oscars for the performers in The Kings Speech. I thought Bonham Carter was wonderful. After seeing her in all the mad/quirky rolers, I had forgotten how great a dramatic actress she was.

    • Here’s hoping! It’s funny that The King’s Speech has the possibility to become the ‘Most Academy Awards in one go’-film. Didn’t see it coming!

  3. it’s been a good year, but I think best actor in a leading role 2006 nominations was the toughest category to date, looking forward to glory years like that in the future!

    • For me it’s all about the 90’s. It just seems that there was more big roles, big people in films then. And the people that have lost .. Denzel for Hurricane, Norton for American History X, Daniel Day-Lewis I can’t even begin. I’m hoping we’re on the rise again this decade !

  4. Yauts, I haven’t made up my mind on most categories yet. Nice reading your picks, I’m behind many of them ^_~.
    A few things popped to my mind:

    First, Restrepo has been raved but is it that different from the Danish Afghanistan documentary Armadillo? Why didn’t it get nominated? It was excellent!
    Well, I’m seeing Restrepo here in DocPoint this Saturday so we’ll see… I just fear that it got nominated over Armadillo simply because it’s American -> Easier to see.

    Second, I think film editing should (and probably will) go to 127 Hours. Boyle got totally nabbed his directing nod and the film its nod in cinematography (who knows why) so this is the next most important category for this film after them.

    Cinematography is veery tricky business for me. Either Black Swan, The Social Network or True Grit which looked as beautiful as a Coens film ever did.

    Getting excited~.

    • Unfortunately often many things come down to ‘Americaness’. And “there’s already one Danish film nominated, so we can’t put up another” ahh it’s all so predictable and annoying and amazing at the same time!

      Seriously, 127 Hours so many amazing, breathtaking moments imagery-wise that I was shocked that it wasn’t nominated for cinematography. Crazy!

  5. I’m gonna make my own predictions pretty soon but I have to say a word about Nolan. He’s never gonna win an Oscar when he is making big budget summer blockbusters. Even when his movies are solidly good and made a lot better than any other big summer movie, the academy won’t recognize his talent. He has to make a big epic movie that is released in December. Then he might have slight chances.

    • Yeah but it’s not a good thing is it, if the Academy bases their choices on circumstancial things like budget, release date and genre. Memento and The Prestige both could’ve gotten directing nods as well, and for me it’s a crime that Memento wasn’t recognised that year. Obviously the Academy isn’t the ultimate measure of greatness, but it is that for so many people.

      • I apologise for my rudeness, simply have to join in here:
        Summer blockbuster are a bummer in Oscars, so true. The Academy is not fair. Nolan deserved a nod for Memento, so true, too. I think The Dark Knight was excellent work as well.
        I think it needs to said that Inception could’ve been directed better. It was explaining its actions throughout the film, a common trick these days that Boyle didn’t turn to and he wasn’t nominated in the director category either.
        If Inception deserves something big, its writing, technical achievements and producing, not directing.

  6. I’m not all that disappointed with the Oscars this year, except no love for Christopher Nolan, or The Town for that matter. However, it doesn’t matter all that much really since The Social Network is practically going to win everything it’s nominated for. Which kind of blows, but hey it really was an amazing piece of work. Can’t wait for the show!

  7. Hey, good predictions. I’m still deciding on my BP prediction. It could be Social Network, could be King;s Speech. You make a good point at BP and director going hand in hand, and I certainly think Fincher will win Director.
    I think you are overestimating The Fighter with editing and screenplay.

  8. I’d like to see The King’s Speech or Black Swan burst The Social Network’s bubble if only because I like supporting the underdog but hopefully the BAFTA’s will bestow all the recognition on The King’s Speech because it deserves it.

Leave a Reply

