Hit or Miss? Happythankyoumoreplease (2011)

Being a fan (using the word loosely) of the comedy-show How I met Your Mother, when I heard ‘Ted’ (Josh Radnor) was writing and directing a film I got intrigued. Premiering in March 2011, starring himself, Malin Akerman, Tony Hale and Kate Mara, the film is an indie rom-com.

To me it looks fresh, but knowing Radnor’s limited acting skills (douche anyone?) it might have been better to cast another leading man. The trailer is adorble though, I watch these types of films when I can’t concentrate on anything more deep and want to dvelve into pretentious and unrealistic lifestories.

This does seem a bit more down-to-earth than most rom-coms that I’ve seen come out in a while, I guess the genre’s well is almost drained out story-wise. When that happens, it’s important to give good characters that seem real and you can relate to. I love that scene where the girl is wearing the ‘I Date Down’ shirt, walking down the street with her boyfriend.

What do you think about Happythankyoumoreplease?

P.S. Don’t forget about the Golden Globes tonight!

One response to “Hit or Miss? Happythankyoumoreplease (2011)

  1. Seems exactly like one of those movies that I sometimes feel like watching only because they don’t require any kind of brain function. Harmless fun, and I might end up actually liking them :) I definitely want to see this, perhaps once it’s on DVD.

Leave a Reply

