Hit Or Miss? Limitless (2011)


The DeNiro fan I am, I usually check out any film he is in, no matter how questionable they seem. I’m really not sure about this one. Bradley Cooper plays a struggling writer who is offered a groundbreaking pill to open up his mind to everything, basically become a genius. In Limitless Eddie Morra (Cooper’s character) gets interested in Monet, Italian and fine cuisine (of course) and makes money in the stock market with his newly discovered savant-like math skills. But, there’s something shady going on and he gets into something that goes deeper than he ever would’ve imagined.

Sounds familiar right? But, I don’t really mind Bradley Cooper, I think he’s a decent enough actor (I haven’t seen him in this type of role before) and of course DeNiro is the most brilliant actor I know (even though he makes some questionable choices nowadays). I’m not saying it looks bad, but I’m not getting it yet. I hope it reaches the same type of refreshing edge as Spielberg’s Catch Me If You Can did when it came out, and doesn’t keep with the mediocre action-thriller-psychological dramas that we’ve all seen a hundred of. The director is Neil Burger, who directed The Illusionist, starring Edward Norton, which I really liked. We’ll see how this pans out March 18th for the UK and the US, and April 1st for Finland.

What are your first impressions?
2 responses to “Hit Or Miss? Limitless (2011)

Leave a Reply

