Hit or Miss? Water for Elephants (2011)


The trailer for Water For Elephants (starring Robert Pattison, Reese Witherspoon, Christoph Waltz) was just released. What do you think?

I’m getting a massive Moulin Rouge vibe from this (without the singing). It’s based on a New York Times Bestseller of the same title, and stars R-Patz = already has a devout audience. Is this a film for anyone else? I’m thinking it could be really charming actually, kind of like Edward Norton’s The Illusionist. Old school, romantic, it intrigues me!
9 responses to “Hit or Miss? Water for Elephants (2011)

  1. I read the book about a year ago and was pretty shocked when I heard that they were making movie of it, and Pattinson got the lead role. Why?! But actually this trailer didn’t look so bad, loved the circus colors. However, the book was awesome, so probably the movie will be disappointment anyway, that’s how it usually goes…

    • Yeah defo, the only booktofilm adaption I enjoyed more than the book (that I can think of now) is Fight Club. But to be fair sometimes they aren’t that bad (but this is a quite rare sometimes). I didn’t mind Revolutionary Road!

  2. Oooh, interesting! I agree with the Moulin Rouge vibe, and as I have a long-term love affair with the film, it’s definitely a plus! And for some reason I’m hugely fascinated by circuses as millieus, so I just started to look forward to this. I’m a bit undecided about Reese Witherspoon and Pattinson, but Christoph Waltz will no doubt be brilliant!

  3. The trailer looks interesting! I’m not really a fan of Robert Pattinson but I like Reese Witherspoon and Christoph Waltz. I think this film is definitely worth watching, if not for anything else then for the circus scenes with those lovely horses and elephants! :)

  4. I read the author of the book originally attended the National Novel Writing Month (where you write a novel in a month) and that’s how Water for Elephants was born. For some people, it apparently works :)

    But hey, say “Christoph Waltz” and I’ll be there.
    Also, Witherspoon’s such a cutie.

  5. Please do not see this movie. Instead support the ADI (Animal Defenders International) who exposed the cruel way in which Tai (Rosie in the film) was trained using stun guns and electic shocks. DO NOT GIVE YOUR MONEY AND SUPPORT TO THOSE ACTORS AND FILM STUDIOS THAT SUPPORT SUCH CRUELTY!

Leave a Reply

